Stainless & nickel tubes are generally certified according to EN 10204. The actual certificate will depend on the tube offered but will either be 3.1 or 3.2. A 3.1 or 3.2 MTC means that the actual tubes or heat sold will have been tested and a Mill Test Certificate (MTC) will accompany the tubes.

EN 10204 3.1 Certification

3.1 is a certificate on all our tubing issued by the mill which declares that the tubes are in compliance with the specification and includes the test results. Test results are validated by the mill’s in-house test department which has to be independent of the manufacturing department.

EN 10204 3.2 Certification

3.2 Certification is more rigorous and the certificate is prepared jointly by the mill’s inspection department and an independent 3rd party inspector. The certificate states that the tubes are compliant with the relevant specification and the mill test certificate is included.

EN 10204 2.1 and 2.2 Certification

For Type 2 certificates the manufacturer declares compliance but does not specifically inspect the product. 2.1 certificates do not include test results and 2.2 certs supply test results based on sampling or other methodology. The tested tubes won't necessarily be the supplied tubes. MST Edelstahlrohr GmbH does not offer tubes certified to 2.1 or 2.2, the test certificates according to 3.1 and 3.2 are overlapping with and extending these certs.

EC Pressure Equipment Directive 97/23/EC ( PED )

Tubes certified to 3.1 or 3.2 are in conformity with the EC Pressure Equipment Directive 97/23/EC for main pressure-bearing parts in categories II, III and IV.

NACE MR 0175

National Association of Corrosion Engineers is a society which gives requirements and recommendations for the selection and qualification of all kinds of steel. They are dedicated to protect the environment by reducing the economic impact of corrosion by advancing the knowledge of corrosion control. Our tubes are often conform to the NACE MR0175 which is the standard for materials used in H2S-containing environments for the oil and gas industry.

Independent inspection authorities

Third party inspection can be carried out by the following independent inspection authorities:

  • Lloyd's Register of Shipping (LR)
  • Germanischer Lloyd’s (GL)
  • Det Norske Veritas (DNV)
  • Bureau Veritas (BV)
  • Russian Maritime Register of Shipping (RMRS)
  • Registro Italiano Navale (RINA)
  • Moody International
  • TÜV Industrie Service
  • AIB-Vinçotte
  • SGS Industrial Service


Other customer specified inspection authorities can be nominated by customers.